Sat, 15 Aug 2020

FIH appoints officials for Tokyo 2020 Olympics

12 Sep 2019, 00:18 GMT+10

Lausanne [Switzerland], Sept 11 (ANI): The International Hockey Federation (FIH) on Wednesday announced the list of officials appointed for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics tournaments.

In accordance with the agreed guidelines and processes of FIH, all appointed officials come from the FIH Pro League panels as these are the top-rated officials.

While performance was the primary selection criteria, the officials' committee also looked, as a secondary consideration, at the geographic spread of the officials to ensure that all continents are represented.

As a further demonstration of FIH's "Equally Amazing" policy, the technical officials will work across both genders' matches. While on-field umpires will be the same gender as the match, video umpires may be of the other gender as has been successfully implemented during the FIH Pro League this year.

Technical DelegatesMen's Competition: Deckenbrock Christian, GermanyWomen's Competition: Standley Tammy, AustraliaUmpires ManagersDe Klerk Marelize, South AfricaHorgan Steve, United States of AmericaSchellekens Philip, NetherlandsWoolley Minka, AustraliaTechnical OfficialsBennett Sarah, ZimbabweBurt Josh, AustraliaCatton Steve, Great BritainChan Alfred, Hong KongChee Lilian, SingaporeDella Mattia Adrian, ArgentinaFuerst Elisabeth, AustriaNazaret Magda, PolandNishizawa Eiichiro, JapanOti-Mensah Frank, GhanaRichardson Reyah, Trinidad and TobagoTomlinson Jackie, New ZealandWarris Rogier, NetherlandZelkin Rene, United States of AmericaUmpires - Men's PanelBlasch Christian, GermanyGoentgen Benjamin, GermanyGrochal Marcin, PolandKearns Adam, AustraliaLim Hong Zhen, SingaporeMadden Martin, Great BritainMejzlik Jakub, Czech RepublicMontes De Oca German, ArgentinaPrasad Raghu, IndiaShaikh Javed, IndiaTaylor Simon, New ZealandTomlinson David, New ZealandVan BUNGE Coen, NetherlandsWright Peter, South AfricaUmpires - Women's PanelChurch Amber, New ZealandDe La Fuente Carolina, ArgentinaDelforge Laurine, BelgiumGiddens Maggie, United States of AmericaHudson Kelly, New ZealandJoubert Michelle, South AfricaLiu Xiaoying, ChinaMcclean Ayanna, Trinidad and TobagoMeister Michelle, GermanyNeumann Aleisha, AustraliaPresenqui Irene, ArgentinaRostron Annelize, South AfricaWilson Sarah, Great BritainYamada Emi, JapanMedical OfficersGordon Leigh, South AfricaNayak Bibhu, IndiaRolle Udo, GermanyThe 2020 Olympic hockey tournaments will be staged in Japan's capital city from 25 July to 7 August next year. (ANI)

Sign up for Barbados News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!